These far hills…after a long hiatus.

I’ve recently been staying with friends of mine near Austin, Texas and have finally been inspired to post an update to this now derelict blog. About a week ago, I took a train from Dallas, Texas to Austin, Texas and since that time, my trip has been fraught with set backs and problems, though I am quite happy in my time here nonetheless.

These far hills, near lake Travis in Austin, Texas.

These far hills, near lake Travis in Austin, Texas.

The weather has been quite abysmal as of late, mostly due to the remnants of hurricane Patricia. Central Texas went from a severe drought to flooding in a matter of a day or two and the runoff still threatens the inhabitants here even though the rain has ceased. I certainly hope that things return to normal for this area quickly as it has been hit hard by the aberrant storms.

Khensu, my friend's half wolf and half malamute canine companion, studying the nearly tame deer that roam these far hills.

Khensu, my friend’s half wolf and half malamute canine companion, studying the nearly tame deer that roam these far hills.

The wildlife here is quite docile and nearly tame, as the deer that roam these hills can be hand fed and petted. I’ve never in my life seen such and this is one of the few things keeping me sane despite my run of bad luck. The nature of these majestic animals reminds me of the stories of the Buddha in Varanasi at the deer park and reminds me to find peace throughout the storms of life. Such has inspired me to re-immerse myself in the parables and stories of the old teachers, perhaps to find wisdom that I’ve either forgotten or perhaps overlooked.

A praying (or is that meditating?) mantis on the brick of my old house, earlier this year.

A praying (or is that meditating?) mantis on the brick of my old house, earlier this year.

In happier news,  a close friend of mine and I have finally purchased our plane tickets to Sri Lanka and will travel there between March 30th and April 25th in 2016. While there I’m looking forward to seeing many of the temples and experience the rich history and culture of that island nation, particularly Anuradhapura and the temple complex there. It is said that a cutting from the Bodhi tree, under which the Buddha realized enlightenment, is growing and the entire complex is a UNESCO world heritage site. I’m quite looking forward to seeing my friends there and making new ones along the way.

Male-total
Above is pictured (via wikimedia commons) the capital of the Maldives, Malé, where he and I will spend an eight-hour layover the day before we land in Colombo. Although it is a very modern place, I look forward to seeing this atoll and taking in the sights as its ancient history is loosely connected with that of Sri Lanka. It was quite a pleasant surprise to find this layover on our itinerary and I fully intend to take photos along the whole trip.

To all of my traveling friends, good luck and keep going; may the road you find beneath your feet be pleasant and without troubles. I sincerely hope that any of you reading this find what you seek and more importantly what you need. Ayubowan, Namovaḥ, and Oyata theruwan saranai.

Leave a comment